Posted by: Dale | February 14, 2010

What is Love?


The question of ‘What is love’ plagues us. we confuse ‘love’ with physical interaction. And while that can be an off shoot of the actual love, it is not love in itself. Love is much deeper. It is the communion of two people’s inner most beings. It is deeper relationship, it is deeper sacrifice and deeper commitment.

My wife and I are now in our 19th year of marriage, and in today’s society that is significant. Rarely do you see people like my grand parents whose marriage lasted until my grand father’s death. Sixty plus years of marriage. If asked they would admit there were hard times, there were times when it would have been really easy to throw in the towel, but they chose to continue on. Sitting at my grandfather’s funeral, I jokingly said to my grand mother “I don’t know how you put up with him all those years” and she replied, “I would do it all over again”. That my friends,  is Love.

I credit my marriage success not to what I have done, but because my wife is such a great encouragement. She makes many sacrifices. I know I don’t say it enough, but “I love you Teresa”.

Let me close with these words that Jesus said that really show what love is

“Greater Love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends”

Do you know who Jesus friends are? Those who follow him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

