Posted by: Dale | February 27, 2010

Life is like a Vapor


Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. (James 4:14)

When I was a child, I set benchmark days, things like “I can’t wait till I am old enough to stay up past nine” or “I can’t wait till I am old enough to drive”. We have all probably done it. Set those benchmarks, set those days that we can not wait for. We are in such a rush to reach a certain point in life, that sometimes we neglect the blessings of the here and now. Once today is gone we can never recapture it. I turn 41 very soon, and looking back at when I was a young child,  I considered that a very OLD person. But not so much now that I have reached that age.

But the 41 years have passed in what seems like a blink of time. It seems that only yesterday I was playing peewee hockey or little league baseball. It seems only yesterday that I was graduating secondary school. It seems like yesterday that I got married and had kids. But now my kids are getting older (one is driving– YIKES ) and so am I. The scripture above talks about how fleeting life is. We are like a vapor James says. And truly that is how our earthly life is. So I encourage you to live your life enjoying the time and loving the Lord. Because our ETERNAL life is not fleeting like our earthly life.
This one is a vapor, but the life in Jesus goes on FOREVER.

Leave a Reply

Categories

