Posted by: Dale | March 9, 2010

Tribute to my Son


Eleven years ago I was taking a break from ministry and was working in the office of a car parts manufacturer. I woke up on March 9th, 1999 to get ready for work. I cleaned up and got dressed and then I went into kiss the kids goodbye for the day while they were sleeping. I went into Eden and Emily’s room first and kissed them. Then I went into my son Dawson’s room to kiss him. When I bent down to kiss my 4 month old son, I noticed he did not move when I did it. It was then that I noticed that he was not breathing. The next few moments seem like a blurr, I took Dawson from his cradle and started performing C.P.R. on him and also called to Teresa (my wife) to come. Teresa called 911 and I continued C.P.R. It was not long before the lights of emergency vehicles filled the street on that early predawn morning. It wasn’t long before the emergency workers took over the C.P.R from me and it wasn’t long before Dawson and I were whisked away in the ambulance to the hospital (Teresa had to stay with the girls until someone came to watch them).But it seemed like an eternity that I waited in a section of the Emergency Room at Woodstock General Hospital, while the Doctors and nurses worked on my Son in a room next door. I prayed, and I prayed for God to save him. I prayed and I prayed that my heart would not be broken. I kept hearing the clock tick, while I was alone in that room. Tick, tock, tick tock, it rolled on.

I am not sure how long it was but eventually the doctor came out of the room and with tears in her eyes, said a simple “I am sorry”. I broke down, I cried and I cried (more than I already was). That was the darkest day of my life. All I had was the memories of Dawson Arthur Stuart Sanger. Memories that were of such a short life. But even today, when I think of them, they bring a smile to my face.

TODAY, I got to walk my 8 year old daughter Charis to school. And as I held her hand and took her to the door of her school, I knew I was blessed, I knew that all my Children are a blessing to my wife and I. I do wish I had more time with him, but I know that as the Bible says, “We do not mourn like those with no hope”(Read 1 Thessalonians 4:13-14). There will come a day, when I am reunited with Dawson, where my whole family is together with Jesus. Until that time, I will think of the smile that Dawson had and know that he is happy with Jesus.

Responses

  1. Hey Dale, Thanks for sharing your heart. I know we pray for more of Him and less of us but I appreciate you sharing your heart in this way as I’m able to see Him through you and the way He’s worked in your life.

    I look forward to meeting Dawson in heaven too…

    With love, Jeremy

  2. Thanks for sharing Dale…I will never forget those days or Dawson. My heart was shattered…and I can never begin to imagine what it must have been like for you and Teresa. None of you have left our thoughts.

  3. The moment we lay our burdens upon the alter,Gods holy firefalls;and whenever we make room for God,He always comes and fills..We been thinking of you guys today and We know how hard it must be when this day comes around as you know I went through it with your sister Tracey but over time the pain seems to be less..We love you guys xoxo

  4. Thanks so much for sharing Dale. I can only imagine how your heart and Teresa’s heart aches when you think of this terrible time and your huge loss. I pray for your peace daily. This is a beautiful tribute to your son. Won’t it be a wonderful time when you are all together again? Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

