Posted by: Dale | March 16, 2010

Worming their way in


Take a few seconds to read Jude 1:3-16. In this passage we see that Jude desired to write the letter to encourage the readers about their salvation. But instead, he had to write to them to warn them about people that have infiltrated the church. People who pushed the idea that because they were saved, you could live and act any way you choose. Jude wanted to be very clear about these people and their lies. He said that their condemnation (opposite of salvation) was written about long ago. He is very clear that a person can lose the salvation that God has given and provides examples of that happening.

I fear that the same type of ‘live and let live’ attitude has infiltrated our churches today. Instead of a strong Biblical moral compass many ‘christians’ are into situational ethics. I even find the danger and attitude sometimes worming itself into my own life, and if we were honest we would say that it sometimes worms into all our lives. We need to make sure that we kill that worm. That we do not become like those that Jude describes when he says in verse 16;

These people are grumblers and complainers, living only to satisfy their desires. They brag loudly about themselves, and they flatter others to get what they want.

Let us not complain and grumble, but let us REJOICE in the HOPE that we have found in Christ Jesus. Let us not be self centered but Christ centered, so we can truly say with Him to the father; “Not My will but your will”

Responses

  1. Yes we all need to look at ourself and ask this question is it all about me or is it all about him(JESUS) is he the centre of my life and if not why isn’t he..if I was honest I would have to say that I fall into this category at times of being self centered and we need to pray LORD change me;”Not My will but your will”..Listen to my prayer,LORD and save me according to your promise!Thanks Dale..we all need to change our stinking attitude..Have a blessed evening..DAD!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

