Posted by: Dale | March 29, 2010

God Talks to strange people


I like John the Baptist. He was a fun character because he was not like everyone else in the Bible. Here was this guy in some really itchy clothes who ate really weird stuff (to me anyways) and what do you know, He talked to God and God talked with him. God chose to reveal His son in some pretty neat ways. Old Woman in the Temple, Old Man in the Temple, The Angels went to Shepherds, and the Wisemen. And now we have John the Baptist a very strange group of people, because none of them were from the existing religious establishment. None of them were from existing Jewish ruling parties, these all were ordinary folks, or foreigners . But lets get back to John.

John says in John 1:32-34 this;

And John bore witness, saying, “I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and He remained upon Him.  I did not know Him, but He who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘Upon whom you see the Spirit descending, and remaining on Him, this is He who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’  And I have seen and testified that this is the Son of God.”

I love the fact that God talks with all these strange people, because it gives me HOPE, that He wants to talk with me too. It makes me remember to not think I am more important because I am a pastor (I don’t want to fall into the trap the Pharisees and Saducees fell into), but that God wants to use people that are sincere in their faith. That desire to talk to Him and desire to listen to Him as well.

So do you want to see your life changed? Do you want affect your community with the Love of Christ. Well then, become one of these ‘strange people’ that TALK and LISTEN to God.

Leave a Reply

Categories

