Posted by: Dale | May 8, 2010

Don’t judge a Messiah by His cover


I am sure you have all heard the saying, ‘Don’t judge a book by it’s cover’. It is a good saying and a saying that I have ignored in the past. I often go into book stores and look at books and the first thing that draws me is it’s cover. If the cover is boring looking, I may not even pick it up. If it is flashy, then it has a higher chance of being picked up by me. But the real test comes when I read some of the pages from the book. If the flashy book has no good content, then I will not buy it. But what I really fear, is that I may have missed something by not even looking at the plain book. Maybe there was some kernel of truth that I had never considered before. Our eyes like the flashy things, but we need more than just flashy, we need substance. In John 7:22 Jesus says this;

Do not judge according to appearance, but judge with righteous judgment.

What He is saying, is look beneath the surface,  consider the spirit of the man. Anyone exploring for truth, must look deeper than just the miracles of Christ, and look into His character, into His soul and spirit. Realize that He is much more than He appears on the surface. Once you look beneath the surface of Jesus, you realize, He was what you have been searching for all your life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

