Posted by: Dale | May 12, 2010

Hey! You Know Me!


Have you ever saw a person and figured you know them but are not sure where you know them from. It can be a potentially embarrassing situation. I have even had times in my own life, where people have come up to me and greeted me by first name, and I had no clue who they were. A very uncomfortable situation. Even Jesus had moments like this, not because they did not know His earthly origins, but because they did not understand His divine origins.

In John 7:28-29 we read this;

Then Jesus cried out, as He taught in the temple, saying, “You both know Me, and you know where I am from; and I have not come of Myself, but He who sent Me is true, whom you do not know.  But I know Him, for I am from Him, and He sent Me.”

These verses come right after the people were questioning whether he could be Messiah, because they would know the messiah and His mission, but Jesus was unsure of. What Jesus replies is precious and foundational to Christianity. Jesus was proclaiming that He was from God and came in the authority of the Father. Jesus was basically saying, “Hey you know me and in fact you know why I am here, because the scriptures speak of it”. The fact that Jesus came to be saviour of the world was not a new idea He thought up, the plan was laid the moment Adam and Eve fell. And He was telling them you know why I am here, so get to know me.

That should be our goal, to get to know Him better each and every day.

Responses

  1. […] } If you remember back to the last posting Jesus proclaimed who He was, and that the He came from the Father. After he made those claims, the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

