Posted by: Dale | June 23, 2010

When the Earth Shakes


When the earth and all its people quake, it is I (God) who hold its pillars firm.

Psalm 75:3

This afternoon a phenomenon that does not occur that much in the area of Canada I live in happened. We experienced a Earthquake that was reported at first to be about 5.5 on the Richter scale. It did not last long (10-15 seconds for me) but I felt the house shake, I saw the walls sway. And I was a bit concerned that something would happen. At that moment I did not know exactly why the house was shaking (wind, explosion nearby, earthquake) but It was still a sobering experience.

After going on the internet (Facebook & Twitter) I quickly came to realize what I had experienced. And of all the tweets or status updates that I received, the scripture verse above was the most calming. Your ground may not literally be shaking right now, but in your life you may be going through some shaking. And this Psalm is a constant reminder that God is in control.

So no matter what is happening in your life, He holds the pillars firm!

Leave a Reply

Categories

