Posted by: Dale | August 3, 2010

Time to slow down


Today I rushed into the office after a week of vacation. I did not really notice the people I was driving along side (I saw their vehicles, I just did not pay attention to the passengers). I had no reason to be in a rush and I was not speeding, I just wanted to get to my destination. But in the travel from point A to B did I miss out on something? The saying “It is not about the destination, it is about the journey” seems appropriate to me. And I wonder why in Canada we don’t take that to heart.

I find it amazing that in our modern culture, we rarely take the time to slow down and enjoy life. People are always rushing from one thing to the next and rarely savor the moment that they are living in. I know the Bible talks about being prepared for the future and being ready, but that does not mean that we have to put an activity in every waking moment as filler. In fact the Bible often times speaks of finding those quiet moment to meditate on God’s word and His being.  Jesus says our rest is found in Him.

So while you are driving  or walking or riding or whatever, take the time to notice the people that are on the journey with you. Take the time to stop and enjoy the fellowship of God in His creation. Take the time at lunch instead of having a ‘working lunch’ to contemplate the goodness and grace of God in your life. Just, TAKE SOME TIME WITH HIM!

Leave a Reply

Categories

